Interesting facts about “Yonex Latvia International” have been collected

The organizers of the Latvian badminton tournament “Yonex Latvia International” have collected interesting facts about the tournament, which took place from September 1 to September 4, for the seventh consecutive year in Jelgava.

There are only five Badminton Europe Circuit tournaments that have been held continuously for the last three years, including 2020 and 2021, when the world was affected by Covid-19. Such is the Latvian tournament “Yonex Latvia International”, as well as “Yonex All England” and “Danish Open”, as well as tournaments in Bulgaria and Portugal.

  • 219 players from 35 countries applied to participate in the Latvian tournament 2022. 
    It is less than other years before, but optimal for the tournament to be held in 4 days on 5 courts, without leaving any player on the reserve list.
  • The first player to apply for the tournament was from Portugal on June 1, 2022.
  • 32 players from Latvia took part in the tournament, in second place Poland with 24, from Estonia 20, from Ukraine 18, from Lithuania 15.
  • 18 players and two coaches from Ukraine participated in the tournament free of charge, and also lived in school dormitories for free and received free food vouchers.
  • The turnover of the tournament was 42 thousand euros
    including the sponsor’s value contribution of 18.5 thousand euros
  • The Latvian TV4 sports channel broadcast 11 games.
  • During the tournament, 45 rackets were strung, provided by one “Yonex” stringer. 
    Only one racket was strung with 16 kg, 5 with 15 kg, and the rest with an average of 12-14 kg.
  • During the tournament, 231 badminton matches were played.
  • During the tournament, 1,740 shuttlecocks (AS50) were used, which is a very high number, as an average of 7.5 shuttlecocks were used per game.
  • The tournament was umpired by 20 umpires.
    4 umpires are considered leaders, as they umpired 30 matches each, including: Viktor Peychev from Bulgaria and Lithuanian umpires Kriste Anciute, Taja Leonovic, Edita Likiene.
  • The first participants of the tournament arrived in Latvia from Malaysia on Saturday, August 27.
  • The player from Timor Leste stayed the longest until September 10, who traveled the furthest way to the tournament this year.
  • It was the first case in the history of the tournament in Jelgava when a player used the shuttle transfer to Airport on the qualification day of the tournament, when all the players had not yet arrived in Latvia.
  • Airport shuttle transfer was provided by 2 minibuses and 6 passenger cars, 2 of them Renaukt electric cars.
    During the tournament, €1,500 were spent on fuel
    as well as another €125 for charging two Renault electric cars.
  • Only 500 liters of water were used during the tournament, but this can be explained by the atypically cool weather in Latvia during the tournament.
  • 98 volunteers were involved in the organization of the tournament, including line judges, volunteers at the airport and sports hall, and drivers.
  • During the tournament, two social integration processes were carried out, including the involvement in line judging of Jelgava pensioners’ society and Ukrainian civilians living in Jelgava since the war in Ukraine
  • During the tournament, 16 participants used the option to pay with a bank payment card, ApplePay or GooglePay. In this way, the tournament received €870. 
    This is less than other years, when card payments exceeded €1,300. 
    This year there were more bank transfer payments made by national federations.
    The Latvian tournament was the first in 2017 to offer on-site tournament payments with bank cards.
  • Since the tournament has been held in the city of Jelgava, players from 60 different countries have taken part in it.  
    This year, the countries of East Timor, Singapore, Taiwan, Vietnam, and Egypt are having representation for the first time ever in Jelgava.
    In previous years, the tournament has had participants from Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican, England, Estonia, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, Ukraine, United States, Wales.
  • Since 2016, when the tournament takes place in Jelgava, there are 8 countries that have participated in all 7 tournaments, including England, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine
  • Since 2014, when the Badminton Europe Circuit tournament was restored in Latvia (in 2014 and 2015 the tournament was held in Riga), 16 countries have won titles in Latvia, including 13 titles for Estonia, 7 for Russia, 5 for France, 4 for Denmark, 3 for Malaysia, 2 for Chinese Taipei, 2 for Poland, and 1 for China, Finland, Germany, India, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden, Ukraine, Wales.
  • Since 2014, there are 12 players who have won more than 1 title in Latvia, including 6 titles for Helina Rüütel (Estonia), 3 for Kati-Kreet Marran (Estonia), Kristin Kuuba (Estonia), Kristjan Kaljurand (Estonia), Mihkel Laanes (Estonia), 2 for Anastasia Chervyakova (Russia), Emil Lauritzen (Denmark), Fabien Delrue (France), Toma Junior Popov (France), Pawel Smilowski (Poland), Roy King Yap (Malaysia), Valeree Siow (Malaysia).


Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s